top of page

Your safari in Mayumba Park and Moukalaba Doudou Park

Discover the wildlife of Gabon, the landscapes, the mangroves, the beaches of Gabon by visiting two parks in southern Gabon.Moukalaba Doudou park where you will observe the accustomed gorillas, and Mayumba Marine Park depending on the season, you will have the opportunity to observe leatherback turtles or humpback whales,by canoe through the mangroves and a walk  vousdiscover the fauna of the park and in particular the hippopotamuses. You enjoy the beach in an idyllic setting and   you initiate the sport fishing at sea or in the lagoon. You can also appreciate the art and traditions of the Vili people.

Organization of your safari in Gabon

From Libreville,you have the choice of coming to Tchibanga in the south using the buses where you will be picked up or we pick you up in Libreville as part of individual transport. Depending on your choice, you can choose between being accompanied by a guide for the entire duration of your tour, or only during the excursions in the Doussala forest or in the Mayumba park.In each park you will be supervised by approved eco-guides who guarantee the smooth and safe progress of your safari in Gabon. 

The program of your trip to Gabon

Day 0

Your arrival in Gabon 

PLANE LIBREVILLE AIRPORT.png

We offer you a tailor-made circuit.This means thatyou control your day of arrival in Libreville. We will synchronize the program according to the date and time of arrival in Gabon and the duration of your stay.This is why the program may change depending on your dates of stay in Gabon.

You have the choice to book the hotel yourself, in this case the driver will pick you up at the hotel.We can, if you wish, take care of the reservation of your hotel in Librevillee and in this case the driver will pick you up at the airport.

As a reminder to enter Gabon:

  • You must have a visa which you can obtain online by clicking HERE, or apply to the consulate of your country.

  • You must present an international vaccination card which certifies that you are vaccinated against yellow fever, more information: click HERE .

FORD 1.jpg
Day 1

Trip to Tchibanga and Moukalaba Doudou Park

Departure after breakfast around 7 am from your hotel or from the airport, if you arrive early in the morning. The journey is 600 km, it takes about  10 hours.

Your guide will meet you in Lambaréné. Along the way you will stop for lunch.

The service includes  :

  • Transport, (the type of vehicle will be defined according to the number of participants),

  • Accommodation

  • dinner.

Lunch en route will be at your expense.

Days 2 and 3

Tchibanga – Village of Doussala  in Moukalaba Douou National Park

Presentation of the village of Doussala and the plain of Porro

Doussala is a forest village established since the 1800s. It is located 2 hours by road from Tchibanga, it is surrounded by savannahs and secondary forests inhabited by a large population of great apes, elephants, Kobes Defassa, small monkeys and birds.

During your stay, meals will be prepared by the women of the village. You will have the opportunity to discover many variations of dishes of traditional agricultural and forest products of the region, including Niembwe, Odika, squash, cucumber, smoked products, etc. You will stay in a three-bedroom lodge called Case Madre with a total capacity of six people. The Lodge was renovated in 2016.

Organization of your safari in Doussala

You will be picked up by local guides after breakfast at the hotel. The journey time to get to the village of  Doussala is 3 to 4 hours.   After your installation and civilities with the village chief, you can participate in your first gorilla tracking from 2:30 p.m. with the   trackers for 3 hours, the observation of habituated gorillas cannot exceed one hour, however the tracking can last several hours on foot.

The next day, you will have the opportunity to do two hikes in the forest to track the gorillas, in the morning from 7 a.m. until 11:30 a.m. and after from 2:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. However, during your hikes, you will eventually be able to observeother species such as elephants, buffaloes, Defassa waterbucks, chimpanzees, gorillas, small monkeys and many other species.

The service includes :

  • Transport to Doussala,

  • Trackers: Observation :Tracking requires special supervision for your safety, this is established  as follows 1 to 4 people:2 guides, for 5 to 7 people:4 guidesand for  8 to 10  people:6 guides

  • Accommodation in the Doussala camp is full board, the food is prepared by the women of the village.

  • Entrance fees to the park.

  • As an option, you can participate in the activities of the villagers, harvesting honey, fishing in the river, attending traditional dances.

Parc Doussala
Days 4, 5, 6

Doussala -towards the Mayumba park observation of all lutes or humpback whales at sea

hippopotamus sette cama.png

Your circuit will take you to Mayumba Park on the coast. You arrive around 11 am at the hotel. 

Presentation of Mayumba Park 

The park protects a strip of beach and narrow coastal vegetation 1 km wide by 60 km long, representing approximately 970 km2. The coast of Mayumba is characterized by large sandy beaches and fresh or brackish water lagoons.
The beaches of the Mayumba Marine National Park are home to a variety of wildlife such as monitor lizards, genets, mongooses, sand crabs and coastal birds. You can meet buffaloes, elephants and other forest animals on the beaches. In the lagoons where large mangroves grow, there are hippos and crocodiles, as well as manatees. 


Your Program in Mayumba Park

We offer several discovery programs depending on the season.

  • Leatherback season from November to April:on this occasion you discover by canoe the Banio lagoon in the Mayumba National Park you can observe the turtles. It is estimated that 30% of the world population passes through Gabon, a large part of which in Mayumba. Leatherback turtles are the largest turtles in the world, sometimes measuring 2 meters in length. It is estimated that 40,000 females come to lay eggs each year on Gabonese beaches and in particular in Mayumba..

  • Humpback whale season from May to October,you will embark on a boat towards the open sea. It is an exciting experience to be on a small boat when a huge whale falls back into the water just a few meters away. Humpback whales travel along the coasts of Gabon to breed, give birth, and nurse their young. Active females and pups are close to shore and larger groups are found in deeper water

  • Take a full-day lagoon safari by canoe and on footto discover and observe the fauna inhabiting the mangroves, in particular hippopotamuses, crocodiles, manatees, etc.

  • Initiate or practice sport fishingin the Banio lagoon, at sea or on the beach day or night according to the different techniques (surf casting, callé, trolling) on the edge of the beach or by boat (A fishing trip by boat takes about 6 hours) .

  • Visit a traditional village of the Vili peoplewhich will make you discover art and traditions through dances and crafts

The service includes :

  • Accommodation with breakfast or full board,

  • Boat rental (canoe or sea boat),

  • Rental of fishing equipment,

  • guides, pilots

  • Entrance to Mayumba Park

Parc Mayumba
Day 7

Mayumba  return to Libreville

Departure will be after breakfast and the driver will drop you off at the initial pick-up location 

ECUADOR SIGN.png

The service includes  :

  • Full board accommodation,

  • canoe rental,

  • guidance,

  • the picnic,

  • Entrance fees to Loango Park

Votre équipement

In Gabon, below the equator the weather changes quickly and the sun can give way to rain in less than an hour, so you should consider equipment to deal with these climatic variations.

For the transport of your personal belongings , we recommend a backpack and for the steps a small dark backpack so as not to be visible to animals.

For the clothes

  • For safaris or trekking in the forest, avoid conspicuous clothing and prefer grey, green, khaki, beige, brown, black.

  • A good raincoat (+ possibly the waterproof pants)

  • Light clothes

  • Long-sleeved shirts or T-shirts (for cool evenings and insects)

  • Jersey

  • Fleece for the dry season by the beach (from June 15 to September 15)

  • Two pairs of walking shoes,

  • plastic sandals

  • Cap

For accessories

  • Sunglasses

  • Beach towel

  • Torch or headlamp (+ batteries): at least one per person

  • Your photo and/or video equipment

  • Waterproof bags or "freezer bag" type plastic zippered pouches to protect your photo and/or video equipment from humidity

  • Possibly, silicate balls to place in your waterproof bags to absorb humidity

For your health

  • Your antimalarial treatment

  • If you are undergoing medical treatment, plan your prescription and your treatment in sufficient quantity  for the duration of your stay

  • Your pharmacy: anti-diarrheal, anti-nausea, ointment against insect bites, antifungal ointment, biafine

  • Insect repellent

  • Solar cream

  • Possibly, antiseptic hand gel

What equipment for your safari in Gabon

corona insurance.png

To learn more about the south of Gabon, see jeanlou's travel diary

JEANLOU.png
bottom of page

top of page

Votre safari dans le parc Mayumba et la parc Moukalaba Doudou

Découvrez la faune sauvage du Gabon, les paysages, les mangroves, les plages du Gabon en en visitant deux parcs du sud Gabon. Le parc Moukalaba Doudou où vous observerez les gorilles habitués, et le parc marin de Mayumba en fonction de la saison, vous aurez l’occasion d’observer les tortues luths ou les baleines à bosse, en pirogue à travers la mangrove et une marche  vous découvrirez la faune du parc et notamment les hippopotames. Vous profiterez de la plage dans un cadre idyllique et  vous initiez à la pêche sportive en mer ou dans la lagune. Vous pourrez aussi apprécier l’art et les traditions du peuple Vili.

Organisation de votre safari au Gabon

Toyota hiace 18 p
Toyota hiace 18 p

press to zoom
MINIBUS HUNDAI 15 P
MINIBUS HUNDAI 15 P

press to zoom
toyota land cruiser
toyota land cruiser

Describe your image

press to zoom
Toyota hiace 18 p
Toyota hiace 18 p

press to zoom
1/5

De Libreville, vous avez le choix de venir à Tchibanga dans le sud en utilisant les bus où vous serez pris en charge ou nous vous prenons en charge à Libreville dans le cadre d’un transport individuel. Selon votre choix, vous pouvez choisir entre être accompagné par un guide pendant toute la durée de votre circuit, ou seulement lors des excursions dans la forêt de Doussala ou dans le parc de Mayumba. Dans chaque parc vous serez encadré par des éco guides agréés qui vous garantissent le bon déroulement et en toute sécurité de votre safari au Gabon. 

Le programme de votre voyage au Gabon

Jour 0

Votre arrivée au Gabon  

AVION AEROPORT LIBREVILLE.png

Nous vous proposons un circuit sur mesure. Cela veut dire que vous maitriser votre jour d’arrivée à Libreville. Nous synchroniserons le programme en fonction de la date et l’heure d’arrivée au Gabon et de la durée de votre séjour. C’est pourquoi, le programme pourra évoluer en fonction de vos dates de séjour au Gabon.

Vous avez le choix de réserver vous-même l’hôtel, dans ce cas de figure le chauffeur vous prendra en charge à l’hôtel. Nous pouvons, si vous le souhaitez, nous charger de la réservation de votre hôtel à Libreville et dans ce cas le chauffeur ira vous chercher à l’aéroport.

Pour rappel pour entrer au Gabon :

  • Vous devez être mini d’un visa que vous pouvez obtenir en ligne en cliquant ICI, ou en faire la demande auprès du consulat de votre pays.

  • Vous devez présenter un carnet international de vaccination qui atteste que vous êtes vacciné contre la fièvre jaune, plus d’informations : cliquer ICI .

FORD 1.jpg
Jour 1

Voyage vers Tchibanga et le parc Moukalaba Doudou

Départ après le petit déjeuner vers 7 heures de votre hôtel ou de l’aéroport, si vous arrivez tôt le matin. Le trajet est de 600 km, il faut compter environ  10 heures.

Votre guide vous rejoindra à Lambaréné. En cours de route vous ferez une halte pour déjeuner.

La prestation comprend :

  • Le transport, (le type de véhicule sera défini en fonction du nombre de participants),

  • L’hébergement

  • le diner.

Le déjeuner en cours de route sera à votre charge.

Jours 2 et 3

Tchibanga – Village de Doussala  dans le Parc National de Moukalaba Douou

Présentation du village de Doussala et la plaine de Porro

Doussala est un village forestier installé depuis les années 1800. Il est situé à 2h de route de Tchibanga, il est entouré des savanes et des forêts secondaires habitées par une grande population des grands singes, d’éléphants, des Cobes Defassa, des petits singes et des oiseaux.

Pendant votre séjour, les repas seront préparés par les femmes du village. Vous aurez l’occasion de découvrir de nombreuses variations de plats de produits agricoles et forestiers traditionnels de la région, dont le Niembwe, l’Odika, la courge, le concombre, les produits fumés, etc. Vous serez logé dans un lodge nommé la Case Madre de trois chambres d’une capacité totale de six places. Le Lodge a été rénové en 2016.

Organisation de votre safari à Doussala

Vous serez pris en charge par les guides locaux après le petit déjeuner à l’hôtel. La durée du trajet pour vous rendre au village de  Doussala est de 3 à 4 heures.  Après votre installation et les civilités auprès du chef du village, vous pourrez participer à votre premier pistage de gorilles à partir de 14h30 avec les  pisteurs pendant 3 heures, l’observation des gorilles habitués ne peut dépasser une heure, cependant le pistage peut durer plusieurs heures à pied. 

Le lendemain, vous aurez l’occasion de faire deux randonnées en forêt pour pister les gorilles, le matin à partir de 7 heures et jusqu’à 11h30 et l’après de 14H30 à 17h30. Cependant au gré de vos randonnées vous pourrez éventuellement observer d’autres espèces comme les éléphants, les buffles, les cobes Defassa, les chimpanzés, gorilles, des petits singes et de nombreuses autres espèces.

La prestation comprend :

  • Le transport vers Doussala,

  • Les pisteurs : Observation : Le pistage nécessite un encadrement particulier pour votre sécurité, celui-ci est établi  comme suit 1 à 4 personnes : 2 guides, pour 5 à 7 personnes : 4 guides et pour  8 à 10  personnes : 6 guides

  • l’hébergement dans le campement de Doussala est en pension complète, la cuisine est préparée par les femmes du village.

  • Les droits d'entrée dans le parc.

  • En option, vous pouvez participer aux activités des villageois, récolte du miel, pêche en rivière, assister aux danses traditionnelles.

Parc Doussala
Jours 4, 5, 6

Doussala -vers le parc de Mayumba observation des toutes luths ou des baleines à bosse en mer

CALENDRIER DES OBSERVATIONS
CALENDRIER DES OBSERVATIONS

press to zoom
baleine
baleine

press to zoom
Petites tortues à Mayumba
Petites tortues à Mayumba

press to zoom
CALENDRIER DES OBSERVATIONS
CALENDRIER DES OBSERVATIONS

press to zoom
1/6
hippopotame sette cama.png
materiel de peche mayumba
materiel de peche mayumba

press to zoom
initiation peche mayumba
initiation peche mayumba

press to zoom
peche sportive
peche sportive

press to zoom
materiel de peche mayumba
materiel de peche mayumba

press to zoom
1/5

Votre circuit vous conduira vers le parc de Mayumba sur le littoral. Vous arrivez vers 11 heures à l’hôtel. 

Présentation du parc de Mayumba 

Le parc protège une bande de plage et de végétation côtière étroite de 1 km de large sur 60 km de long ce représente environ 970 km2 La côte de Mayumba est caractérisée par de grandes plages de sable et des lagunes d'eau douce ou saumâtre.
Les plages du parc national marin de Mayumba accueillent une faune diversifiée par exemple des varans, genettes, mangoustes, crabes de sable et oiseaux côtiers. On peut rencontrer sur les plages des buffles, des éléphants et autres animaux forestiers. Dans les lagunes où se développent de grandes mangroves, on y trouve des hippopotames et des crocodiles, ainsi que des lamantins. 


Votre Programme dans le parc Mayumba

Nous vous proposons plusieurs programmes de découverte suivant la saison.

  • Saison tortues luths de novembre à avril : à cette occasion vous découvrez en pirogue la lagune Banio dans le parc Parc National de Mayumba vous pourrez observer les tortues. On estime que 30% de la population mondiale passe le Gabon dont une grande partie à Mayumba. Les tortues-luths sont les plus grandes tortues du monde, mesurant parfois 2 mètres de long. On estime à 40 000 femelles viennent pondre chaque année sur les plages gabonaises et en particulier à Mayumba.

  • Saison des baleines à bosse de mai à octobre, vous embarquerez sur un bateau en direction de la pleine mer. C’est une expérience passionnante d’être sur un petit bateau quand une baleine énorme retombe dans l’eau à quelques mètres seulement. Les baleines à bosse longent les côtes du Gabon pour se reproduire, mettre bas, et allaiter leurs petits. Les femelles actives et les petits sont à proximité de la côte et de plus grands groupes sont trouvés en eaux plus profondes

  • Faites un safari d’une journée dans la lagune en pirogue et à pied pour découvrir et observer la faune habitant les mangroves notamment les hippopotames les crocodiles, les lamantins, etc.

  • Initiez ou pratiquez la pêche sportive dans la lagune Banio, en mer ou sur la plage le jour comme la nuit selon les différentes techniques (le surf casting, la callé, la traîne) en bordure de plage ou en bateau (Une partie de pêche en bateau demande environ 6 heures).

  • Visitez un village traditionnel du peuple Vili qui vous fera découvrir l’art et les traditions à travers les danses et l’artisanat

La prestation comprend :

  • L’hébergement avec petit déjeuner ou en pension complète,

  • La location des bateaux (pirogue ou bateau de mer),

  • Location du matériel de pêche,

  • les guides, les pilotes

  • L’entrée dans le parc de Mayumba

Parc Mayumba
Jour 7

Mayumba  retour vers Libreville

Le départ se fera après le petit déjeuner et le chauffeur vous déposera au lieu de prise en charge initiale 

PANNEAU EQUATEUR.png

La prestation comprend :

  • Le transfert vers Libreville

  • La prestation ne comprend pas:

  • Le Déjeuner

  • Les frais d'hôtels à Libreville (sur option)

Votre équipement

Au Gabon, sous l'équateur le temps change rapidement et le soleil peut laisser place à la pluie en moins d'une heure, donc vous devez envisager un équipement pour faire face à ces variations climatiques.

Pour le transport de vos effets personnels, nous vous conseillons le sac à dos et pour les marches un petit sac à dos sombre pour ne pas être visible des animaux

Pour les vêtements

  • Pour les safaris ou trekking en forêt, évitez les vêtements voyants et préférez le gris, vert, kaki, beige, marron, noir.

  • Un bon imperméable (+ éventuellement le pantalon imperméable)

  • Vêtements légers

  • Chemises ou T-shirt à manches longues (pour soirées fraîches et insectes)

  • Maillot

  • Polaire pour la saison sèche en bord de plage (du 15 juin au 15 septembre)

  • Deux paires de chaussure de marche,

  • Sandales en plastique

  • Casquette

Pour les accessoires

  • Lunette de soleil

  • Serviette de plage

  • Torche ou lampe frontale (+ piles) : au moins une par personne

  • Votre matériel photo et/ou vidéo

  • Sacs étanches ou pochettes plastiques à glissière type « sac congélation » pour protéger de l’humidité votre matériel photo et/ou vidéo

  • Éventuellement, billes de silicate à placer dans vos sacs étanches pour absorber l’humidité

Pour votre santé

  • Votre traitement antipaludéen

  • Si vous suivez un traitement médical, prévoyez votre ordonnance et votre traitement en quantité suffisante  pour toute la durée de votre séjour

  • Votre pharmacie : anti-diarrhéique, anti-nauséeux, pommade contre les piqûres d’insectes, pommade antifongique, biafine

  • Répulsif anti-insectes

  • Crème solaire

  • Éventuellement, gel antiseptique pour les mains

Quel équipement pour votre safari au Gabon

assurance corona.png

Pour en  savoir plus sur le sud du Gabon, consultez le carnet de voyage de jeanlou

JEANLOU.png
bottom of page